Members of the Council

The Council of the Evangelical Church in Germany

The EKD Council, whose term of office is six years, has fifteen members, both lay people and clergy. Fourteen of the members are elected jointly by the Synod and the Church Conference. The President of the Synod is the fifteenth member ex officio. The Synod and the Church Conference also jointly select the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of the Council from among the elected council members.