Logo of the EKD

Evangelical Church in Germany (EKD)

Twenty Lutheran, Reformed and United regional churches (Landeskirchen) form the Evangelical Church in Germany (Evangelische Kirche in Deutschland - EKD). German Protestant church structures are based on federal principles at all levels. Each local congregation is responsible for Christian life in its own area, while each regional church has its own special characteristics and retains its independence. Without in any way diminishing this autonomy, the EKD carries out joint tasks with which its members have entrusted it. The EKD has the following governing bodies, all organized and elected on democratic lines: the Synod, the Council, and the Church Conference. They are responsible for fulfilling the EKD's tasks as laid down in the constitution of the EKD.

Cover Flyer The Evangelical Curch in Germany

The Evangelical Curch in Germany

A Communion of 20 Lutheran, Reformed, and United Protestant Churches