Map of the Regional Churches in germany.

Regional churches

The Evangelische Kirche in Deutschland (EKD – Protestant Church in Germany) is a federation of 20 independent Lutheran, Reformed and United regional churches in the Federal Republic of Germany. The territories of the EKD member churches correspond in many cases to the borders of the kingdoms, dukedoms and principalities of the Napoleonic era and are a vestige of the much older cujus region, ejus religio principle, that is, whose rule, their religion“. The Federal Republic of Germany is comprised of 16 federal Länder or states. Their borders do not coincide with those of member churches. The regional churches maintain numerous contacts with other churches in Germany and abroad.